Central European
Cybersecurity Conference

15–16 November 2018, Ljubljana, Slovenia
Hotel Lev, Vošnjakova ulica 1, 1000 Ljubljana

About the Conference

The second Central European Cybersecurity Conference – CECC 2018 aims at establishing a venue for the exchange of information on cybersecurity and its many aspects in central Europe. CECC 2018 encourages the dialogue between researchers of technical and social aspects of cybersecurity, both crucial in attaining adequate levels of cybersecurity. Complementary contributions dealing with its economic aspects as well as any legal, investigation or other issues related to cybersecurity are welcome, too.


Selected papers will be published in a special issue of the Journal of Universal Computer Science.

14 June 2018

The conference will offer a Best Paper Award sponsored by Future Internet.

13 June 2018

Paper submission deadline extended to 9 July 2018.

11 June 2018

Call for Papers

The official Call for Papers is available at (EasyChair):


The conference is devoted to presenting and exploring scientific and technological advancements and original innovative applications in the field of cybersecurity. Topics for this conference include, but are not limited to:

  • Cybersecurity and cyber resilience
  • Cyber insurance
  • Digital privacy
  • Digital currency, blockchains and cybercrime
  • Law, investigation, internet jurisdiction and ethics
  • Child safety in the cyberspace
  • Cyber forensics
  • Surveillance, interception, blocking and sovereignty
  • Cyber warfare
  • Network security
  • Critical infrastructure security
  • Business continuity and disaster recovery
  • Information security governance
  • Security management
  • Cloud security
  • Internet of things security
  • Big data and cybersecurity
  • Healthcare information security
  • Software development security

Important dates

9 Jul 2018
Submission deadline
30 Jul 2018
Author notification
10 Sep 2018


CECC 2018 proceedings will be published by Association for Computer Machinery (ACM) in the ACM Digital Library within its International Conference Proceedings Series (ICPS) using its new Open Access model.

Selected accepted and presented research papers will be published, after further revision to ensure adequate quality for journal papers, in a special issue of the Journal of Universal Computer Science (ISSN 0948-695x / 0948-6968).

Best Paper Award

The symposium will offer a best paper award of 500 Swiss franc (CHF) sponsored by Future Internet journal, MDPI. The award which will be announced and bestowed at the symposium closing session. The award will be conferred to the author(s) of a paper presented at the conference, selected by the symposium chairs. The decision criterion will consider both the paper quality (assessed by the program committee), and the oral presentation quality (feedback given by session chairs at the conference venue).

Submission Guidelines

The official language of the conference is English. Papers are limited to 6 pages.

All papers must be original and not simultaneously submitted to another journal or conference. The following paper categories are welcome:

  • Full papers reporting on original research findings (5-6 pages).
  • Short papers reporting on original research findings (2-4 pages).

Papers submitted to CECC 2018 have to use the ACM SigConf template. Please, read template instructions carefully before submitting the paper.

The quality of the research papers will be assessed based on its originality, significance and clarity.

All submitted research papers will undergo a double-blind reviewing process. Please, make sure that submitted papers do not contain author names or obvious self-references.

Submission of a paper implies that at least one of the authors will register and present the paper at the conference if the paper is accepted.

Submit research papers using the CECC 2018 submission system.


Conference co-chairs

Lothar Fritsch, Karlstad University (Sweden)
Bela Genge, Petru Maior University (Romania)
Joerg Keller, FernUniversitaet in Hagen (Germany)
Wojciech Mazurczyk, Warsaw University of Technology (Poland)
Simon Vrhovec, University of Maribor (Slovenia)

Program committee

Igor Bernik, University of Maribor (Slovenia)
Luca Caviglione, ISSIA, CNR (Italy)
Michal Choras, University of Science and Technology (Poland)
Boštjan Delak, Faculty of Information studies in Novo mesto (Slovenia)
Jan Eloff, University of Pretoria (South Africa)
Petra Grd, University of Zagreb (Croatia)
Georgios Karopoulos, Joint Research Centre (Italy)
Stefan Katzenbeisser, Technische Universität Darmstadt (Germany)
Bradley A. Malin, Vanderbilt University (USA)
Blaž Markelj, University of Maribor (Slovenia)
Jorge T. Martins, University of Sheffield (United Kingdom)
Pal-Stefan Murvay, Politechnical University of Timisoara (Romania)
Haller Piroska, Petru Maior University of Tirgu Mures (Romania)
Kaja Prislan, University of Maribor (Slovenia)
Gerardo I. Simari, Universidad Nacional del Sur in Bahía Blanca and CONICET (Argentina)
Edgar R. Weippl, SBA Research (Austria)
Steffen Wendzel, Worms University of Applied Sciences (Germany)
Christos Xenakis, University of Piraeus (Greece)
Aleš Završnik, Institute of Criminology at the Faculty of Law Ljubljana (Slovenia)

Organizing chair

Blaž Markelj, University of Maribor (Slovenia)

Organizing comittee

Igor Bernik, University of Maribor (Slovenia)
Simon Vrhovec, University of Maribor (Slovenia)

Publication chair

Igor Bernik, University of Maribor (Slovenia)


Media partners

Previous conference: Central European Cybersecurity Conference 2017