About the Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security

The beginnings of the Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security go back to 1973 when the College of Public Administration in Ljubljana established a department to carry out study programs in internal affairs.

As it developed to meet the growing needs of the state, it soon became clear that an independent school was needed, which necessitated the founding of the School of Internal Affairs in Ljubljana in 1981, offering a two-year, post-secondary course of study. Its programs were redesigned and adapted to accommodate the legislative changes enacted in higher education and to meet the needs of the profession in 1984, 1989, 1991 and 1995, when it became an associated member of the University of Ljubljana. The same year, the School started a three-year college program. The following year it was renamed the College of Police and Security Studies offering a three-year program. In 2000 it put in place a proposal for a four-year university study program and redesigned the previous program in 2002. In 2003, the College was renamed the Faculty of Police and Security Studies and became a full member of the University of Maribor. In 2006, the Faculty revamped its study programs according to the standards set out by the Bologna Declaration, offering its students, for the first time in its history, a full range of new undergraduate and postgraduate program in the field of security studies. At the end of 2006 it was renamed the Faculty of Criminal Justice and Security.

The work of the Faculty is divided into three segments: education, research and administration. The first segment is the domain of university professors, research staff and associates, who, based on their area of expertise, are members of different departments. Research is done by university professors and researchers as part of their teaching assignments, as well as within the framework of the Institute of Criminal Justice and Security Research. They are often assisted by associate staff from other institutions. Administration is the province of the dean, vice-deans, the secretary’s office and the student administration office. The Faculty has its own library, providing students and staff with access to domestic and foreign hard-copy and digitized print resources.